Common Core State Standards Update

August 4, 2010

Over the past two months, states all over the nation have been busy adopting the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). As of press time, 34 states and the District of Columbia have adopted the standards (see table below). Some states -- including Kentucky, Utah, West Virginia, and Washington -- have adopted either the draft standards or provisionally adopted the final standards, leaving the state more time to debate the finer points. Most states have set firm public timelines regarding their plans to adopt, with only a few states (Alaska, Texas, and Virginia) deciding against participating in the CCSS initiative, as well as the Race to the Top competition. This leaves us with 13 states left to keep a close eye on over the next few months.

A recent report from the Thomas B. Fordham Institute titled, "The State of State Standards – and the Common Core – in 2010" sheds light on these new standards and how they relate to current state standards. Overall, Fordham gives the Common Core math standards a grade of A-minus and the English language arts standards a B-plus. However, Fordham discovered that the current English language arts standards in three jurisdictions – California, the District of Columbia, and Indiana – are currently higher than the standards prescribed in the CCSS. This poses many questions for these respective states as they move forward with their adoption and implementation plans. States are allowed, however, to add other requirements on top of the CCSS if they so choose. Read the full Fordham report online.

ICW is constantly monitoring and updating our Common Core State Standards page to reflect the latest states to adopt the standards. Also follow us on Twitter to learn about the latest breaking news.

States that have Adopted the Common Core State Standards as of 8/4/10


Arizona Missouri
Arkansas Nevada
California New Hampshire
Colorado New Jersey
Connecticut New York
District of Columbia North Carolina
Florida Ohio
Georgia Oklahoma
Hawaii Pennsylvania
Illinois Rhode Island
Indiana South Carolina
Iowa Tennessee
Kentucky (adopted draft standards) Utah (adopted draft standards)
Louisiana Washington (provisionally adopted the final standards)
Maryland West Virginia (adopted draft standards)
Massachusetts Wisconsin
Michigan Wyoming